About the National accessArts Centre.

Founded in 1975 as the In-Definite Arts Society, the National accessArts Centre (NaAC) is Canada’s oldest and largest disability arts organization – and in 2020, became the country’s first multidisciplinary disability arts organization. Today, the NaAC supports more than 300 artists living with developmental and/or physical disabilities through on-site studio supports and workshops, and an even broader community of Canadian artists with disabilities through immersive programs delivered online.

International initiatives.

In 2018, the Centre became one of the first Canadian disability arts organizations to tour internationally and launch a global artist residency initiative. Since then, our artists and/or their works have travelled to destinations including Hong Kong, Seoul, Dubai, Guadalajara, New York, and Tokyo. In 2020, the NaAC became the first disability arts organization to partner with Canada’s foreign affairs ministry that led to the acquisition of thirteen NaAC artist works to be a part of the Government of Canada’s permanent collection.

In 2021, the NaAC opened its exhibition – Conference of the Birds – as part of COP26, the UN Climate Change Conference in Glasgow, Scotland.

Vision: Communities across Canada recognize, celebrate, and proactively include the talents and skills of artists with disabilities.

Mission: Providing artistic training, creation, exhibition, and presenting opportunities for artists with disabilities, and sharing the power of their creativity through local and global partnerships and advocacy that opens doors for their inclusion in our arts and culture ecosystem.

In the spirit of reconciliation, we acknowledge that the National accessArts Centre is situated on the traditional territories of the Blackfoot Confederacy (Siksika, Kainai, Piikani), the Tsuut’ina, the Îyâxe Nakoda Nations, and the Métis Nation (Region 3).

Our current studio facility is located at 8038 Fairmount Drive SE in Calgary. Work is now underway for our move to our new home, located at 2140 Brownsea Drive NW, with development plans that envision a world-class, completely accessible, arts training and presentation venue.

Our artists.

The NaAC represents a growing community of artists living with physical and/or developmental disabilities through our artistic training, creation, and exhibition/presentation platforms. With our multidisciplinary mandate, many of our artists train and present works across the visual and performing arts disciplines.

NaAC artjourney artists.

Learn more about NaAC’s community of artists by visiting artjourney, a NaAC initiative that aims to connect and showcase a global community of talented artists living with disabilities. Coming soon.

artjourney logo

About Our Artists

Our Team

Jung-Suk (JS) Ryu

President + CEO

(403) 253.3174 x1

Ankur Gupta

Director, Development

(403) 253.3174 x 8

Cassandra Ng

Coordinator, Stakeholder Relations

(403) 253.3174 x 4

Julie Suh

Coordinator, NaAC Toronto

(403) 253.3174

Karly Mortimer

Vice President, Artist + Program Development

(403) 253.3174 x2

Clayton Smith

Lead, Programs and Exhibitions

(403) 253.3174 x 106

Raewyn Reid

Manager, Studio

(403) 253.3174 x 107

Ashley Brodeur

Manager, Performing Arts

(403) 253.3174

Katie Wackett

Coordinator, Artistic Projects

(403) 253.3174

Carlos Arteaga

Coordinator, Audio & Music Programs

(403) 253.3174

Jarret Hlady

Studio Facilitator

(403) 253.3174

Richelle Bear Hat

Coordinator, Indigenous Programs

(403) 253.3174 x110

Jennifer McInnis Wharton

Studio Facilitator

(403) 253.3174

Chawna Exner

Performing Arts Assistant

(403) 253.3174

Wednesday Lupypciw

Studio Facilitator

(403) 253.3174

Toni Cormier

Studio Facilitator

(403) 253.3174 x0

Levin Ifko

Coordinator, Performative and Interdisciplinary Practices

(403) 253.3174 x0

Alicia Morrison

Movement Collaborator

(403) 253.3174

James Silcock

Movement Collaborator

(403) 253.3174

Heather Jones

Director, Artist Services

(403) 253.3174 x3

Faiza Benazir

Financial Officer

(403) 253.3174 x5

Kylie Poppe

Coordinator, Artist Services

(403) 253.3174 x0

Marcela Tomasi

Artist Services Assistant

(403) 253.3174 x0

Ron Hoffmann

Vice President of Business Development Fluid Energy Group Ltd.

Calgary, Alberta

Judith Galbraith

Retired (public servant)

Calgary, Alberta

Ken Regan

Retired (former CEO, CKUA Radio)

Edmonton, Alberta

Jeff de Boer

Past Chair
Professional Artist

Calgary, Alberta

Kate Price

Executive Director, ACT Alberta

Calgary, Alberta

Lisa Cooke

Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, ATCO

Calgary, Alberta

Andre Giesbers

Manager, Marketing and Midstream Logistics Saguaro Resources

Calgary, Alberta

Donna Thomson

Author and Caregiver

Ottawa, Ontario

Colin Jackson

Co-Chair of Calgary on Purpose, Senior Scholar at the University of Calgary Graduate College

Calgary, Alberta

Jack Williams

Partner, Head of Operations at White Whale

Calgary, Alberta

Emma Graney

Energy reporter, The Globe and Mail

Calgary, Alberta

Gideon Arthurs

Executive Director of Soulpepper Theatre

Toronto, Ontario

Our Supporters

The National accessArts Centre receives impactful investments from a variety of different sources, with core operational funding from the Government of Alberta through the Ministry of Community and Social Services, the Calgary Arts Development Authority, and the Alberta Foundation for the Arts. In addition, the Centre receives support through its long-term lease arrangement with the City of Calgary.  Below is our list of supporters for the 2022-2023 fiscal year:

ATB Financial 
Ron and Melissa Wigham 

Calgary Shaw Charity Classic Foundation 
Colin Jackson and Arlene Strom 
Banff Global Business Forum 
Hotchkiss Family Charitable Foundation 
Telus Foundation 

Anonymous Donor 
Art Market 
Ben Oppong 
Bundang Memorial Park 
Catriona Chorney 
Daryl Fridhandler 
Dale Berstad 
Dell Pohlman 
Diana Mulherin 
Gerald Chipeur 
James Peplinski 
Ken Hughes 
Lauren Wigham  
Lois Mitchell 
Martha Hall Findlay  
Matthew Matheson 
PBA Group 
Tae Sup Shim 
The Winnipeg Foundation 
Todd Hirsch 
Valerie Hazle 

Under $999
Andre Giebers 
Anthony Petrucci 
Arley Cocks 
Beverly Parker 
Brad Sorenson 
Byung-Min Sa Won-ja Hwang 
Cara Milne 
Carol Mortimer  
Chad Leier 
Craig Hansen  
Dan Shea  
Darren Milne  
Dennis Sai Hoon Hong 
Donna Thomson 
Gordon Howell  
Jack Williams  
Jae Jo Chun Joong Hwan Chun 
Janice & Matthew Wilson 
Jeff de Boer 
Jo Anne Murray 
John Grant  
John Stinson 
Jonathan & Laura Lytton  
Joshua Bell  
JS Ryu 
June Derhak 
Judith Galbraith 
Kate Price  
Katherine Harmsworth 
Ken Regan 
Kendra Warwick 
Linda Crossley 
Linda Jarrett 
Linda Tremble 
Lynn Perrault 
Marc Workman  
Mary Corbett  
Maxine Boettcher 
Molly Breckel 
Myrla Sadiq 
Norman & Laurie Bennie  
PwC Canada 
Richard Cooke 
Robert Roach  
Ron Hoffmann 
Stephanie McNeil  
Tara Levick 
Taylor Barrie 
Vita Leung 
Wendy Miller  

Thank you to our Artist Patrons

Artist Patrons provide a monthly contribution as part of our special donor program, whereby each patron is paired with one of our in-studio visual arts participants.

Barbara Beck
Carson Harding
Catherine Striemer
Christa Kahl
Cindy Dorais
Cindy & Larry Malazdrewicz
Dale Berstad
Debbie Lemke
James Cameron
Jasvir Chatha Bains
Juanita Carberry
Kambie Milnthorp
Kara Tersen
Karen Johnson Diamond
Ken Regan
Kyle Olsen
Laura-Jeanne Stollery
Lauren Chipeur
Leslie Tamagi
Liam Dining
Lisa Cooke
Lynne Lesack
Marc Workman
Melody Poon
Nicole Kaczkowski
Nilima Sonpal-Valoas
Pansy Angevine
Rachel Wade
Roland Wigham
Ron Hoffmann
Sean McComish
Simon Mallet
Stephanie McNeil
Stretch Communication
Wendy Hunt